Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Sad Saturday

Because my back was still hurting from the weeding yesterday, I changed tack and did some more clearing indoors. This time it was Mum’s “tut basket”, which was next to her chair on top of a lap tray and an upholstered box where she and Dad kept their Bible studying books and materials. Because she found it hard to get about for her last few years, Mum used to chuck stuff she was doing or reading etc into the “tut basket” to save her getting up. It was a really hard thing to go through, which is probably why I’ve been putting it off. Lots more pairs of glasses and half-finished writing and information booklets about Parkinson’s (which she suffered from), untouched since the day she went into hospital where she died three weeks later. My heart felt very heavy. Then I opened the Bible studies box. It broke me. I haven’t been able to continue on with much for the rest of the day and I’m still feeling bereft.

I’ll be giving away Mum’s walking aid/shopping trolley tomorrow to a friend from church who is in need of a rollator since a recent spell in hospital herself. Mum would be pleased about that.

Hopefully I have now discovered all of Mum and Dad’s glasses, and will be able to take them along to SpecSavers, where they can forward them to charitable organisations for re-use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.