If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Woodpigeon ( Columba palumbus )

Of the shots I took today this one appealed to me, I like the dark background and sunlit bird.  I know many, for reasons I don't understand don't like pigeons.  I have heard they called dirty, well those in our garden are often bathing.  The white is always perfect in their plumage and despite the fact we have two, possibly four, regularly in the garden there is no mess.

There are around 52 million pairs in the UK.  I hope people don't mix these our native lowland pigeon withe the feral racing pigeons (Columba livia domestica).  The feral pigeons are the result of birds sent off on a race getting lost.  Being reared by man and originally developed from the native Rock Dove ( Columba livia ) buildings seem an easy and safe substitute for cliff ledges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.