Sprout lover

By robharris35

Batten

Winds whipping up and swirling all day. Via different and varying maps, I was trying to follow the progress of Tropical Cyclone Hidaya that is approaching the Tanzanian coast, south of Dar es Salaam.

‘Hidaya is the strongest tropical cyclone ever recorded this close to the Tanzanian coast’, was one alarming headline I read. Quite a strange feeling to be sitting and awaiting the impact of a cyclone as it tracks ever closer. 

The very commonly used verb ‘batten’, in reference to hatches and storms, is quite an unusual word, we mused today.

On a brighter note, my annual leave plans are shaping up well for the European summer. I feel like I am on practically a constant work trip at the moment, so some personal travel is very welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.