My day

By 59

Cold

We had a cold start to the day with -4°C. The temperature is recorded at the airport out of town where it is 3° warmer. We are down low near the river and cold air gathers down here. 

I have been intending to try out the local hydrotherapy pool for exercise. I don’t know, I either forget or have something else to do. Well today I found my swimmers and put them on, so I would remember. Silly me. We have a big complex with 3 indoor heated pools, spa, cafe and outdoor Olympic size pool which is closed for winter. I did 20 minutes walking up and down the pool for oldies then it got a bit busy and I decided to get in the other bigger pool. I had it all to myself and managed a couple of laps. I don’t call it swimming, but I could propel myself along in an ungainly fashion. I never got the breathing sorted but can float and do side stroke. I probably need to go in a pool more then once every 10 years to improve. The thought of swimming in an ocean scares me so I never do that.

While I was in there I got talking to a chap and his carer. He obviously had some ‘condition’ by the questions he asked me. His carer said he had the ability to know the day of the week for any date in the past. We tried him with a couple that we knew the answer to and he was indeed correct. Amazing and somewhat spooky. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.