To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Distracted Hausfrau

Another rainy day, stuck indoors. That still didn't keep me from putting off doing the dishes, as seen in the background. Here I am, reflected in a mixing bowl -- my face may look a little rounder, but the wrinkles, circles, and bags under the eyes have been stretched away. Who needs photoshop when you have a bowl drying in the dish rack?

The most welcome distraction I had today was when my daughter called me from another room.

"Mom! Mom! What letter makes a yeh sound? Yeh. Yeh."

"The letter 'Y'," I replied.

She bent over the paper she was working on and wrote 'Y.'

"Mom! What letter makes a yoo sound?"

"Think about it -- what letter sounds like yoo?"

"I dunno," she said. I was surprised. It seemed so obvious.

"Yoo. What letter does that sound like?" I asked. She still didn't know, so I said, "The letter 'U.'"

"No, 'U' sounds like uh," she corrected me.

Apparently we need to work on the long vowels. I said, "It can also sound like oo."

She accepted that, and carefully wrote a 'U' after the 'Y.' I looked at what she was writing. In big, carefully drawn red letters, she'd written:

MOM
ILFYU

I almost cried - I was so blown away that she managed to string together ILF before asking for help. I gave her a big hug and told her, "Oh, sweetie, I LF YU, 2!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.