The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

All The Small Things #5

Another one in this unexpectedly long sequence of flying things macros.

I've moved from the back garden for this one (although I would be rather pleased to see a dragonfly or two land in there!). With the official start of summer today weather wise we decided to head back down to Cosmeston Lakes for a picnic and a wander around.

I actually went with the intention of getting a dragonfly shot, as it is one of the best places to see them. It was strangely bereft of them. I only got this shot as we were walking back to the car. I think it is a Black Tailed Skimmer ... I am happy to be proved wrong (it could be a Four Spotted Chaser but the body looks wrong).

I did get one of my wildlife spots of the year though. I finally found where the bird hide is, there was a pair of Great Crested Grebes there. We wandered around the edge of the hide so I could get a better photo of them. The water is crystal clear at Cosmeston, and as I looked down one of the grebes swan right below where we were standing under water trying to catch some fish. Bloody amazing!

I'm off to Newport Wetlands tomorrow afternoon .. I will try to keep this sequence going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.