WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Ferry Ride

I spotted a ride onto the Roseland peninsula on RideWithGPS. I adjusted it slightly to fit in one is Simon Warren’s dastardly uphills and set off.

After a few miles, I took a short ferry ride and chatted to a local on a bike and then I had the place to myself. It was a fine little route, first heading to St Maws which had a large cruise-liner in the bay and pretty thatched houses mixed in between the quaint coastal cottages. 

I was then on a mission of steep uphill. It was the craziest of roads - more like an alleyway between two houses which, for a short while, hid what lay ahead. And there it was - 33% - the closest I’ve been to backing off before I begin. The tarmac swept up and curved right like a wall with the houses continuing upwards in what felt like great towers. 

My last few minutes flashed before my eyes. I’d just joked with a workman when he said ‘y’alright?!’, that I wasn’t entirely sure. And that’s all I needed to get on the front of my saddle and hit the pedals! I wasn’t cycling back past him.

And then it was over! Almost more quickly than my heart had time to race. I think I even enjoyed it!

The hills weren’t over and continued in shortish ups and downs all the way back and generally on pleasant, not too narrow roads.

And it’s pizza night! I sat outside in the sunshine until collection time and ate outdoors too.

Now plotting for the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.