Everyday Life

By Julez

New Market

Lincoln's market had been closed for a very long time. 

Just like the surrounding area of the town it has had a serious gentrification make over, reopening last weekend. 

I went down to check it out today and to get my Blip. The conclusion I came to was that it's... OK I guess. Underwhelming!

Most of the stalls are food - it is a glorified food court really, with canteen-style tables all around the area and on a balcony area which is where I took this photo. 

The fruit and veg stall you can see looks good, and there is a very nice Rocks and Goblins - style stall, which may well get some custom (from me!) as it's pretty much the only thing of its kind in Lincoln Everything is somewhat overpriced, but I daresay rents charged by the Co-op for pitches are pretty steep too! 

I had a good coffee and ok piece of carrot cake. Most stalls cater for Vegans and vegetarians to some degree. 

Another good thing is that they have toilets! Free to use, individual unisex cubicle style ones!

Whilst posting my Blip I put the TV on to watch The Chase only to see Rishi Sunak standing in the driving rain singing his own praises and gaslighting the public that they've never had it so good! Then he threw in an unhealthy dose of scare mongering about the state of the world and how it is better the devil you know rather than more uncertainty...

So July the 4th we will be heading for the polls again... I don't know how it will go. No option sings to me... It will be the lesser evil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.