Everyday Life

By Julez

Just Be-Gorse...

Last night when I was getting ready for bed I fortunately recalled that I had an appointment for the Hygienist at the dentists' on Birchwood today. My appointment was at 12.30 PM, so fortunately I didn't have to leave until 11 AM to catch the bus. When Grace used to take me I booked it for earlier but now later makes more sense. 

I had 20 minutes to kill once I was off the bus so went onto the field behind the dentists' surgery to look for a Blip. This gorse bush was the only thing that was remotely interesting. 

After my appointment, which went well, I bought a cheese salad butty to eat at the bus-stop. I popped into a charity shop where I found a book on cake couture that may interest Jeri and a Bosh! vegan/vegetarian recipe book for me! 

Once back to Lincoln I dropped the books at home and headed straight to the hospital to visit my Dad. It was strange up there today - none of the senior staff seemed to be around. I daresay they were, just not visible. 

My Dad said that there had been suggestions of transferring him to a different hospital, or maybe finding him a care-home place, but as I never got to see anyone other than student nurses and the tea-lady I could not find anything out. I'll make a point of doing so tomorrow!

He seemed quite off colour again and had said that the staff had spent quite a bit of time with him that morning. He is still getting visual disturbances but has not mentioned this to the staff. I will do so when I speak to them. They know everything else so I'm not sure why he is keeping this from them. 

They have given him a fancy air-mattress to prevent pressure sores. Both he and the man in the next bed have one, and both say they are very uncomfortable! I'd have thought an air mattress would be comfy...

When I came home I was ridiculously thirsty, having not had a drink since breakfast! I downed an iced coffee from the Co-op and half a bottle of water!

Now it is time for hobbies and TV football!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.