Melisseus

By Melisseus

The Right Place

How sensible is it for a foxglove to grow on top of a stone wall? This is the section of wall I rebuilt last year - I don't think I put any soil in it. The plant chose the right year to try its luck: it will have been regularly watered! A hydroponic foxglove. I tried various ways to capture the impressive length of the stem (close to 2m), but without success - if anything, this one foreshortens it, but I like the colour combination of stone, aquilegia and the smoke tree in the background. The tree has grown the fine clusters of stems that carry flowers and seeds, and that give it its 'smoky' appearance later in the year. The tiny yellow flowers are just visible - when the weather warms up again at the weekend, the bees will be here for the treat



The colony of bees that we are allowed to try to salvage are on their new frames and fresh wax. I took them some liquid feed this morning, and they were quite defensive (a beekeeper would never say 'aggressive'), which I regard as a thoroughly good sign that they like their new home and don't want to be messed about any further. It's good to have something positive to focus on

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.