eyesee

By davidc

W-I-D-E on Wednesday: Springsteen in Sunderland

"Bruuuuuce!" shouts the crowd. Wow! My 10th live Bruce Springsteen concert but my first for 8 years, and what a show! He and the band may be getting old but they can still make the place rock, putting on a non-stop extravanganza lasting just 5 minutes short of 3 hours. Definitely worth the hour-and-a-half wait for a Metro on the way home (I got home at 1.05am, hence this being a backblip). As you can see in the photo, it poured with rain all night (we were on seats under cover - we pitied the hardy souls on the pitch but it didn't seem to be bothering them). I went with an old university pal whom I've known for...let's think...53 years - and we had a good catch-up too.

Of course all the lights meant that I could take some shots for Bobsblips's Widwed challenge of "The Light". The setlist didn't include "Blinded by the Light" which would have been the icing on the cake for the challenge, we did have "Light of Day" as number 9 in the setlist.)

I'm certainly qualifying for the title "old rocker" this year, following the Kaizers' Orchestra concert in March - and I'm seeing Bruce again at Wembley with Son#2 in July. I'm very lucky. (Note: My Editor isn't a great fan of Bruce - I can't understand why!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.