SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Result

Didn't actually go to Robbin's Well.

Second and last Westwood sesh in the morning, learned about transactional analysis. Real help.

Good thing too, cos it took my mind off the fact that my results were coming out at 1.30pm! Kept busy by heading back home to meet Francesca and wander around the shops for a bit, and lend her my hula-girl necklace from the Jsoc shabbaton last year. After getting well and truly nervous, I waited for a bus to campus, and got a text from Thom who had been in uni house and checked the results and not seen my name up there - panicked me even more! I called to ask if he was joking and he said no, but he'd check for me again, and then said he found my name and that I should relax. So I did.

Pretty much had assumed that I'd managed a 2:1 by the time I got to uni house... and I did. :) Relief is still the overwhelming emotion felt at that! Thom came and said hi, and I headed onto central campus to meet Gabbi, who was in Psychology celebrating her first. Bought some wine in Costcutter (and Lambrini for a friend), hung out on the piazza for a bit, said bye to Thom who was going home, and went to Gusto for lunch!

Then home, and finally met Joe for that drink, which actually entailed a Beats and Bars night. Walked down the parade with my film student housemates, to 'Lamp', a little bar-lounge place where some students were doing spoken word and music, and met Tony and Joe there. Tony went on and did a set of covers of The Smiths and The Cure, and honestly, I was bowled over! I'd never heard him perform before so don't know what I was expecting but he is one talented man. Amazing, amazing guitarist, wonderful voice, and such a funny performer! Stayed to listen to the rest, one of whom, Elly, was also brilliant and really stood out to me.

Then, after much deliberation about what to do about Tony's guitar and Joe's lack of ID, we decided to head to Kelsey's via Vialli's (who, I found out, had started putting paprika with their fries. Yummy. Even with cheese!). Got in cos they didn't have bouncers on the door, and thankfully everyone I was hoping to see that night had converged upon that wonderful dive. Thom, Luisa and their film friends were on one end, Jack and his old housemates were playing pool on the other, and Joe, Tony and I got ourselves an Eliminator and sat at a couch chatting for a bit.

At one point Tony disappeared to put a song on, and returned saying 'I'm sorry, they don't have Blurred Lines' - but as I was playing pool with Jack, Jupp and their Gosford mates a few minutes later, it came on and I loved Tony even more at that minute! Very fun couple of games of pool, and eventually, after trying to spread my time between the second and third years, and ending up on the couch after Tony and Joe had left, hearing all about the boys' Gosford in jokes (one reminiscence was prompted by my playing Ring of Fire on the jukebox) and being thoroughly entertained, Thom and Luisa came over to say they were leaving. Lingered for a bit, saw they hadn't quite said their goodbyes so milked the last few seconds!

Another good night provided by that fine establishment. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.