PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

All by itself

I have a clock on the wall in my room - I find I still like a clock face rather than a digital interface, like the one on my computer close by.

Today it stopped. I changed the battery and replaced the clock on the wall. Immediately the hands started to go round and round . . . until it was telling the right time, when it stopped. Of course I know it is a radio-controlled clock and uses a signal from the transmitter at Anthorn radio station (which is not far from us), but I still find it magical that a clock can set itself to the right time. 

I am easily amazed by the simplest of technology. But to me this is not simple - it is magical. And it's a long way from when I was a child and remember my grandfather every evening winding up and setting right the clock in their hall. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.