A day in the life

By Shelling

Orchids

My walk today brought me to the orchid fields not far from home, on the huge plain called "Alvaret". Alvar is defined as a type of landscape where the soil is no deeper than two cm. underneath is the huge limestone slab that the whole island consists of. The south part of the island is the largest coherent area of Alvar in the world. It has also been appointed a world heritage by Unesco.

While having my walk out there I noticed two people covering orchid-flowers in plastic bags, connected with plastic tubes to a meter of some kind. They were scientists from Lund measuring scent between the flowers to work out how the flowers/plants communicate via scent-molecules and maybe what they are communicating. (extra)

I continued my journey, more focused on the aesthetics, how the plants look, Most of my photos weren't very good but I was pleased with this one of two orchids, very typical for Ölands Alvar; the "Krutbrännare" (Burnt Orchid Neotinea ustulata) in the foreground and the "Göknycklar" (Green-winged Orchid Anacamptis morio)in the background. A plant I've never seen before came in my way; "Dvärgviol" 'dwarf viol', (Viola pumila Chaix)I couldn't find an english name for it. A very small, beautiful and humble plant.

I write this blip accompanied by solid rain outside, which is good because we haven't had rain in over three weeks now,  I keep my windows open so I can hear it splashing out there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.