Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Fair drookit ...

Right. That's it. I've had enough of this rain now. I know it's not been here long, but I'd just got used to the sunshine, the scents, the t-shirts ... and now it feels like another country and instead of 20ºc in the afternoon we were trauchling about in temperatures of 10.5º and shivering because we were soaked through ...

Can you tell my mood didn't really lift today? I spent far too much on the weekly shop because I was earlier than ever and beyond real thought, so that I forgot I'd bought more muesli last week and now the larder is overflowing with the stuff (I exaggerate, but that's what it feels like).And I became irritated at someone I only ever speak to on these early Thursday shoppings because of a racist remark she made and I didn't feel I had the time (I'd not had breakfast yet) to deal with it properly.

I scampered through breakfast after that, and had managed to clear it all away before the bishop-elect (it sounds good to say that) arrived to discuss a congregational singing practice (to be followed by a barbecue) with the organist. I left them to it and went off to catch up on my Italian ...

And then I decided it was all too much and I needed an old-fashioned walk and blether with Di, with the result that we headed out into the by then pretty serious rain to walk along the shore road and up the hill until a huge puddle blocked our way, right across the road from verge to ditch, deep enough to swamp our trainers. We retreated and went back to hers to drink tea and drape me (and my wet breeks) over the Aga.

I don't remember much about the telly I watched tonight, other than the fact that East Enders is so traumatic emotionally these days that it makes me angsty when I'd really rather not be. And the news is so grim - I was thankful for an unexpected phone call which made me laugh because the person I was talking to was laughing so much at me ...

The collage shows the only two photos I took today - a couple of flowers on the verge of the high road in Blairmore, vibrant in the rain. Di told me what they were, but true to form I've forgotten. They were rather splendid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.