Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Moving on

Another morning of piano practice, book bag sorting and walking to school, then home to do some laundry, clean up and tidy the house, then a call with my finance person followed by a catch up with VG, then nipped to M&S to buy some bits for lunch for Mt&H getting home.
Although it started grey and damp I was very pleased when the sun came out and dried all the washing, and was sitting relaxing in the garden when they arrived home just after 2pm. We had tea and cake and I told them all about how the kids had been and they showed me photos and talked about their holiday. Seems like they’ve had a really relaxing and lovely time, with good weather, lovely hotels and food, and cocktails at sunset. Just what they needed! They’d bought me a lovely bracelet as a thank you from a jewellery shop called Dodo in Cagliari….so kind. As we were chatting we saw the cat saunter towards the house with a mouse dangling from its mouth…argh! Mt ran out to deal with it….thank goodness that didn’t happen when I was here alone!
I set off up to MK and left them to do the school pick up, listening to the start of the next book group book (You Are Here by David Nicholls) which it took me a while to settle into.
Much greyer in MK, but sat in the kitchen with K whilst she prepared dinner (some of her young friends were coming round) and when they arrived we chatted about the OU (where two of them work), Edinburgh (where another studied), mothers in law, house prices, impossible bosses, family weddings, schools, Formula 1 races etc etc. Nice evening, with a lot of humour and lovely vegan food, but I was really tired and by the time the last one left I was ready for nothing except bed. Off up north tomorrow ….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.