Marionb

By Marionb

Sunrise..

..on honeysuckle....it was the best I could do.. sunrise-wise, that is.. I have not been to the lake for ages.... you know, midges and all ..and oh yes, not waking up in time!  My world has shrunk to the confines of my yard...and my sofa!

So much to do in the gardens! Today I tackled the pots...got them out of storage and almost ready for planting... maybe tomorrow if I get out to buy dirt?  Ian was here mowing lawns and digging out a young tree and an old shrub that did not survive the winter - that was a sad moment...and now I have to decide what to plant in those empty spaces...but first....

"Farewell, my very young Japanese maple - you are gone too soon. I had such hopes for you and have no idea how I will ever replace you. And to my ancient almond?  Thanks for the memories..for all those years of pink blossoms. You survived so many traumas over the decades..even the nibbling of my Irish setter who found your branches somewhat tasty.. you will be remembered..."

And about the sofa? As usual I have flitted around from one hobby project to another lately - and now it is time to get back to that photo-book of my 1987 trip to England I was trying to create - the one with slides that have faded and discoloured and with only letters and postcards home  -no travel  journal -  to document what we did. Oh how I wish I had labeled those slides...I have no idea where at least half of them were taken...so it is an arduous task requiring endless hours on the sofa with my laptop.

Note to self: Never do that again! Label everything! Do not assume you will remember what you think you will never forget!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.