Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Peas in our time

Another dull but dry morning, so I decided to try for the Walled Garden again, unreachable yesterday because of roadworks. I arrived at the same place to find the 'road closed' signs up and a man sitting in his lorry came over to say that the road was closed!  When I asked when it would be open he merely pointed to the sign which said 'Closed from 9am to 3pm.' !

So I came home and did some garden work and set off again in time for 3pm. The road was empty and nobody about - I bet it had been open for ages! Once in the Walled Garden car park a friend drove in saying that she was killing time before going to view a nearby house for sale; then another friend drove in to say that someone was coming to see his house shortly. Quite a coincidence! 

I carted all my peas down the steps and got tied up with George, who brings his son to work several beds. He wanted to talk too! So all told, that was half an hour gone! I did plant most of the peas until I ran out of space, but it wasn't fun - the midges were out in force! This is the first time I've seen them this year - where we live we don't get bothered with them possibly as we're a little higher up. All I had with me was anti-bacterial gel - midges seem to love it! Runner beans and potatoes next then!

My Blip today is of the drive up to Glencruitten House, owned by the man who will be whipping the Walled Garden out from under our feet come September!

Quote of the Day: 'A midge in your hand is worth two up your kilt.' - Stuart McLean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.