There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Big Snake Time

My husband and I decided to go over to the former Dry Hollow property for some exercise. We both had new footwear we were dying to try out: a trail running shoe for him, and a tough backpacking boot for me.

So we drove there, and thinking there might be bugs, I took along a long-sleeved shirt in my daysack. Well, there were bugs galore. I am here to report that the mosquitoes were absolutely merciless. 

They pursued me with the passion of a spurned suitor. Any time I stopped, they were on me. For every photo I took, they feasted. I had on bug spray but I think they were sort of developing a taste for the stuff. Eventually, I put the long-sleeved shirt on, which helped; I wished for long pants.

We finished up and headed back down the path to the car. My husband, the jogger, was well ahead of me, and as I neared the car, I saw him running toward me. He was motioning. I turned my tunes off. "Big Snake!" he was saying, gesturing with his hands. "BIG SNAKE!!!!" He made his hands even wider!

And I got to the parking lot to discover one of the biggest snakes I'd ever seen. It was easily as long as I am tall (a bit over five feet). It was very dark, almost black, and was cruising along at a decent speed.

Of course, you know how I am. I had to get closer for a better shot. So the instant I saw it, I snapped a few shots, and then I stepped closer until I was about two feet away from the end of the snake, which is where I was when I got this photo.

The snake wanted nothing to do with me, so it continued cruising into the weeds, as I pursued it, with camera. At that point, I could not see the head OR the tail. As soon as I noted the mottled dark markings of its skin, I hollered out: "RATTLER!!!" But if I would have said that, I would have been wrong! I was sort of partially right; it's an eastern RAT snake.

Now, as I watched the snake moving, it was cruising flat, straight ahead. It did not move in the side-to-side motion that I think of as more typical for rattlers. Also, I did not see any actual RATTLES on it. On a snake this big, there would be plenty, as a rattlesnake grows a new rattle every time it sheds its skin. If the snake had lost its rattles due to some trauma, there would be a noticeable break there at the end of its tail that you would see.

Not all rattlers rattle at you in advance as a warning before they strike. So it's not unusual to see a rattler that does not rattle. I think it's good form, and polite, to give you that warning. Still, not every snake follows proper protocol!  ;-) Do I sound like I know what I'm talking about? Well, yes, I'm a girl who's been rattled at a time or two!

Anyway, I am guilty only of this: of seeing a beautiful snake in the wild and presuming it to be one kind, when in fact, it could very well be another. The snakes we fear most (around here, rattlers and copperheads) may be the ones we "see" whether it is actually there or not. Possibly complicating things further . . . I also learned later that rat snakes may PRETEND to rattle their tails so other creatures think they are venomous!

This is how perfectly harmless snakes end  up dead: because people think they are baddies, when in fact, they're actually NOT. In fact, this snake here is a tremendous mouser and ratter. If you are finding snakes in odd places, it's likely because they are finding FOOD there. Yes, they (not unlike us) are snack-motivated! 

Oh, and killing a native snake is actually AGAINST THE LAW in this state, unless the reptile is putting you in immediate harm. Is that snake trying to murder you? Really now? Please! 

Eastern rat snakes are famous for being good climbers, and I found a hysterical comment thread on reddit about them, which I'm linking to. I'll include just one gem of a quote to give you some idea of what you might find there: "If the snake's on the wall with no cares at all, that’s a rat snake. If it ignores the floor and climbs right up your door, that’s a rat snake."

Interestingly enough, when I got home, not only did I look up long dark snakes in central PA (here's a list of 21 snake species in PA), but I posted my photos on Facebook, and kibbitzed with the snake lovers who commented. 

Two of my female friends from work also posted photos (and video!) of rat snakes they had just seen. My one friend has daughters who named the huge rat snake who lives in their yard Brooks. (Now I'm giggling, thinking of their snake as Mr. Brooks, from the serial killer movie starring Kevin Costner.) I excitedly showed my husband their snake photos and comments. "You girls and your snakes!" he said, rolling his eyes.

So here is the rat snake that I initially thought was a rattlesnake. Learn from my example. It is heading into summertime. There are snakes and mosquitoes and ticks in the woods. Plan accordingly. 

And don't immediately leap to conclusions when you see a snake; it is probably just a regular dude or dudette going about its business. Leave it be, if you can. Don't harass it or stand too close. If it's in peril, try to help it find a way out of it, preferably without touching it. Oh, and don't forget to take a few pictures. And when you get home, look it up. You might be surprised what you learn!

My soundtrack song for this huge, gorgeous snake is Peter Gabriel, with Big Time.

P.S. First outing for the new boot, and it scored EXCELLENTLY!
It felt very tough, like a TANK. Fit well. Was comfy. Felt like I could walk over, under, or around ANYTHING. Laces did not slip or come untied. And look at those metal grommets; lacing them up is a blast! It's too buggy in the woods now; backpacking season is done for springtime. But I can't wait to take these out into the wilderness, come fall backpacking season!

Bonus links: 
Eastern rat snake Pantherophis alleghaniensis
A short hiss-tory of timber rattlesnakes
Black rat snake facts and information

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.