Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny

It has been a perfect day to potter in the garden - warm, but not too warm and sunny, but not too sunny.  Also, the pollen seems to be less today - yay!  While I was snooping around in my largest garden I spotted this extremely tiny Margined Calligrapher hoverfly, in the syrphidae family of flower flies.  They are ridiculously small - barely 5 mm and it would have been very easy to miss it had I not seen the motion.  I also found a hammer-jawed jumping spider, a new species for me - image in Extra.  A ridiculously small spider and very hard to photograph.

I haven't packed yet, but that's next on my agenda today.  One of the many nice things about staying with my parents when I visit is that if I forget something, they are likely to have it or know where I can get it.  

We watched "October Sky" last night (at the recommendation of former blipper Vodkaman) and really enjoyed it.  A wonderful story and very well acted.  

I am reading a fascinating book right now called "The Warmth of Other Suns" about the migration of southern blacks in the US to northern, midwestern and western states to flee segregation and racism.  Over 6 million African Americans (former slaves or descendants of slaves) moved north between 1915 and 1970.  The author follows the accounts of three actual people, weaving their stories into the history.  It makes you really stop and think about the migrations that are occurring all over the world right now - people fleeing unthinkable living conditions and striking out to make a new life for themselves and their families.  Very thought provoking.

Dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.