A day in the life

By Shelling

Walnut

I've been noodling about at home, taking it easy and preparing a little for my trip down south to Skåne, the southernmost part of Sweden, where I'm born. There are some friends left down there, that I keep in regular contact with but we don't actually see each other so often, maybe once or twice a year. I'll stay away for a week so I guess the grass back here will be waist-hight when I get back, there was no time to cut it today. 

Last spring I planted a walnut tree on my lawn, I've dreamt about having a tree to sit under when I grow old but I've realized that won't happen. Apparently I'm already old and it will be at least fifteen years befor I can sit under this tree, maybe I can use a blanket and lie down under it. The tree was given to me by a friend, it grew in his compost heap and he didn't want it there. unfortunately the top was missing from the tree so it will never become anything else than a walnut bush of some sort, depending on how I can trim it. Just recently it started to sprout new leaves and looks rather healthy actually. The Rhododendron (extra), given to me last year when I was seventy, is also doing fine. Just like me. 
There will be short blips this coming week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.