Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Puppy Kisses (Almost)

Well, what a difference a day can make. The "things" are still in the back of my mind, but that's it. The back, furthest corner I could put them, after all it was such a lovely day.

As we once again made our way up towards and through Alston and Nenthead and then towards the kennels. It's not a bad journey, until you get to the lane going up to the kennels, that takes 20 minutes! I've been on better forest roads.

We got to the kennels eventually. Where we were treated to a superb 3 course lunch with added Pimms, specially for invited guests / puppy walkers, and laid on by the Masters. We had a very quick look, and I mean very quick look at two wee pups that were in the field. There aren't really any puppies to walk at the moment, as the bitches were late coming into season. They did have a litter on Wednesday night / Thursday morning, so we've got roughly seven weeks to decide if our lives could handle the disruption of a couple of pups again.

I told myself that we were having a year off to concentrate on all the other things we wanted to do, to get the OH back into a rally car and kick some butt, to go and see a bit more of the country....... but the puppies are soooo cute.....

When Mark, the huntsman, brought the young entry down the lane and into the field, I instantly recognised Stormer, he was the only really light hound in the lot of them. When he came into the ring I was so proud of him, the way he stood and the way he moved. Especially when he was still there when the judges had whittled the dog hounds down to one and a half couple, I was starting to feel a little nervous. He didn't win, but I was really pleased as to how he'd grown into a lovely looking lad.

It was then the turn of the bitches. I could recognise Stalkem by the small white patch on her back and the whorl in her fur. I could see the judges looking and discussing..... the OH's brow had a definite furrow in it, trying to work out her chances. She won!! Best bitch hound. I was absolutely astonished and elated.
She then stayed in the ring as they judged the overall champion, which sadly she didn't get, but she got reserve. So I was pleased with that. I asked one of the judges after about what they saw in her, and he said she was a perfect little bitch hound. So I couldn't ask for more than that. :)

Then it was time to sort out all the pups into couples and who had walked them. While they were sorting them out, Stalkem was still in the ring, so I thought I'd go and have a little catchup with her. She is still so soft and so lovely. I didn't fancy a full hound puppy kiss though! This is them together

When I had both of them on the couples again, I realised how much I'd missed them. Could we manage with another couple? Maybe? I don't know.

It was a brilliant day though. Followed by an excellent tea - cakes, sausage rolls, quiche, sandwiches, buns, scotch eggs, more sandwiches, even more cakes. In comparison to yesterday & Thursday, it was like a different world. A much happier, puppy filled one.

When we eventually got home, we went straight back out again. BBQ time with two of our neighbours (more food and maybe a little drink too!!).

I'm a very lucky girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.