Wood Rubbing

Part of HeartFreek's July Photo Challenge!

When I thought about today's challenge yesterday, I was going to use my wooden box of oil pastels for a very quick blip today. However, on the way home from my dressing appointment I thought of the river and how I could go and photograph a tree, and further maybe do a rubbing.

Here is a rubbing of a tree using brown chalk, followed by drawing into it quickly with coloured oil pastels. Oil and chalk don't mix and if you draw one over the other you will not see the later colour on top of the chalk.

I've used a picture of the tree I took a rubbing from overlooking the river as a background. Not sure if I like that idea or not, but it makes it different. The tree was out of focus.

When I was there I heard splashing in the river, and managed to capture this pigeon having a cheeky bathe :)

Part of my river series.

Just having a quick lunch then off to my first day back at work! Not looking forward to it as it will be very hot and sticky. We can't have any outer doors open for security reasons.

Apologies in advance if I don't get to all your journals in the next few days, its my first week back at work starting tomorrow ~ so I will be working Monday to Thursday, then Saturday and Sunday!

Happy Monday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.