The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Four-spotted chaser

Four-spotted chaser, Foulshaw Moss.

This was on the main dragonfly pool at Foulshaw, a male four-spotted chaser dragonfly pausing between spells of patrolling and hunting over the water. The bokeh is from the sun sparkling on the pool behind. The spots in the middle of the wings are diagnostic, and give it its name.

I spent a lot of time at Foulshaw last year, but I think this is only the second time I have been this year. I have hardly seen any dragons and damsels all year, so I squeezed in a visit after working through such a beautiful Summer's day. Work was a bit full on, increasingly the trend seems to be towards meetings and teleconferences at lunchtime, and there is no opportunity for a break. So I headed out before 5 pm, and it was good for the soul to watch the dragons vigorously hawking over water, and the damsels gently manouevring between the grass blades.

And now it is time for Gus's evening walk. The poor lad has been panting this afternoon in the heat, the disadvantages of having an integral fur coat. So he should enjoy a run out in the cooler temperatures of the evening. I may have to miss blipping a sunset, it was quite good last night, tonight looks more promising.

BEST SEEN LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.