South to Chester

Today we are headed south as far as Chester, roughly two hours from the Lake District. The sun continues to shine, and as I write this people are sitting in the garden. The first time I have been to Chester in about 39 years, as far as I am able to report it has not changed much.

The Cathedral is still where it was, the Clock still stands over the wall and the shopping mall is still on two floors with lots of buildings painted black and white. On my previous visit I had not noticed there was a river, but having been for a boat ride I can now report there is one of those as well.

I was slightly surprised by the Cathedral, it is more decorated than I would expect for a Protestant church, and I am mildly surprised it got thorough the reformation with all this decoration intact. For the photo of the day (POD) I was split between this photograph of part of the wall decoration or the highly decorated ceiling. I went for this one as I think it is slightly more successful photographically.

Tomorrow the journey continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.