Is this the famous view?

Today we made a whistle stop tour of the Lake District. The first stop was Ambleside to have a look at the Bridge House. We then headed over to the Honister Slate Mine. What a road, no wonder the owner used to commute to the mine by helicopter. A shame his helicopter crashed in bad weather, but I suppose the same thing could have happened on the road.

There were a lot of people everywhere, including at the mine. In the latter case despite the road. There was a BBC television documentary about the entrepreneur who owned the mine, and his struggles with the National Trust. He wanted to build a zip wire, and as far as I could tell they are still trying to get permission.

The final stop was at Ullswater. Lots of people having BBQs. The smells got my stomach working overtime begging to be fed. Quite a long walk at Ullswater looking for the jetty where the post card photographs are taken. I think this might be it. I am not very happy with the way this photograph has come out however. The colours don't quire work for me. Not worthy of a postcard I am afraid, even though I think I managed to get the horizon straight for once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.