Savor

By savor

The Great GiveAway!!! or Take Me OUT to the Ballll

The photo:

My brother had 4 tickets to a Nationals vs. Braves baseball game. He was not interested in going and I'm studying (NO distractions!!!) so I couldn't go. He was just going to THROW THE TICKETS AWAY!! Why? My brother and I are so different. Why would you waste the tickets? So...I used trusty ol' Craigslist to give away the tickets PLUS a free parking pass. When I told my brother he couldn't understand WHY I was going out of my way to give away tickets to strangers. He chastised me quite a bit and told me I should be studying. I laugh in the face of dissent. (hahahaaa)

I posted at 2:30pm and and I had 20 responses within the hour! I thought for sure there would be very FEW people interested since the game was in less than 4 hours! Well...I tried to do the first come first serve thing. But the FIRST guy blew it by asking me...where were the seats? Are you kidding? They are free tickets. I think they were pretty good seats too. I thought that was rude! Then I went to the two who said it was their anniversary. They didn't get back to me in time so....I read through them all. The most polite person said "thank you for the generous offer..." He also provided a number for an easy transaction. He got the tickets for him, his 2 daughters and his son who had never been to a baseball game (he couldn't have been more than 7). What a great guy he was...his name was Joe.

I knew this was the right guy...he kept trying to GIVE me something in return. I was like NOooooo. I was starting to get a wee bit annoyed but I asked for his picture as compensation and so we were even STeven!

What I learned: Which is really nothing new. I'm a bleeding heart. I love to give...even at my own detriment. Thank goodness I don't have millions. This is why I don't belong in the city. Need a ride? Well...if you look safe enough...I'm your girl. I'm trying to change. My brother thinks its dangerous. I wonder if it's some deep seeded need to be liked. Hmm..... that would make sense if everyone didn't already LIKE me!!! ;) Now I see why Oprah does it. It feels good.

What I savor: The moments to do something...extraordinary.

Am I sharing too much? Just tell me when.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.