Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Top of the world ...

..this part of the world anyway! Today I took advantage of the fine weather and the availability of a climbing companion to get up my first hill for a couple of years. Though I walk every day, and though Beinn Donich is a Corbett rather than a Munroe, there is still the slight niggle: will it prove too much for the ageing carcass? And on this particular, lovely hill, there is the challenge of what you might call a craglet - a rocky scramble of about 15' down which you must go to reach the summit. The last step of it is a stretch on the way down - and quite a challenge on the way back up before you can descend the hill.

But I made it. I felt fit, and I still feel no worse than in past years - in fact, at 23.10, I feel better than I would have expected years ago. Actually, I feel wonderful. There is nowhere like a hilltop on a sunny day in Scotland, and I'm thrilled I can still get up there to enjoy it.

The view, by the way, is of Lochgoilhead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.