Sweet Child O' Mine

I'm a bit confused as to this credit crunch thing. I spent the afternoon in Truro centre today where the shops were full-to-bursting with people throwing their plastic around like there was no tomorrow. Perhaps that's the problem.

I do like going round the shops when I come back from Oman and after a nice lunch with Larissa and her sister, I left them to their girly-nonsense-shopping whilst I stoated about admiring the huge choice of videogames available in the UK (but not buying any as they are much cheaper online).

Mobile phones have the same affect on me that shoes and handbags have on Larissa and so I spent a bit of time admiring a few of the new handsets available. The N97 looks very gadgety (a good thing), with flippyout bits and a touchscreen but the reviews for it have been less than flattering so far. The iPhone seems to be big business in Blightly (the Arabs never really took to it and so it was very hard to get hold of) but until they sort out that daft camera, I'm staying well clear. I am still extremely happy with my N82 and so will leave potential phone upgrading until I get to Egypt where there is none of this contract nonsense you get here.

In the end I did my bit for the economy today by ordering a nice new Crumpler New Delhi 620 and paying to get my sensor cleaned (after a very large dusty dot started to appear on my images) from a local camera shop hidden away in the side-streets.

This old guy was struggling to string together any notes that resembled a tune, but whatever he was playing when I snapped this obviously brought back some fond memories for him. I waited around for a bit to see if he was going to trash his guitar and amp for his finale, but he just slowly packed his stuff up whilst nobody took a blind bit of notice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.