photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 189 of 365 - Shakespeare was here!

Welcome to day 189 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken late this afternoon looking up towards the Tower and Spire of the Ruined Old Cathedral of St Michael. I took the photo when standing near to the Porchway entrance of St Mary's Guildhall. If you look towards the top right side of the arched window near to the middle of the image is a stone carving of William Shakespeare. Shakespeare was a frequent visitor to Coventry and the Guildhall in particular. It has been recorded that he performed at the Guildhall as part of a troupe of players beginning in about 1580 (aged 16) and onwards until a couple of years before his death in 1616.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App 645 PRO Mk II for iPhone, saved as a TIFF file before any editing. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used Snapseed to edit the image. This was done by adjusting and boosting the Ambiance, Contrast and Saturation. I also added a little extra detail by sharpening the image and adding a little extra structure. I then used Mextures to apply some lighting and textures to the image. The preset that I applied was called Yasmin by Taylor Allen. Next I used ShockMyPic to make the image a little more painterly. After that I used Distressed FX to add some extra texture to the image using the Stirred overlay and the Charm Texture. Finally I used PhotoToaster to apply the Antiqued texture and add the Shadow frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.