West Coaster

By WestCoaster

The Call 1914

The Calling 1914 9s a war memorial like no other, it is stunningly beautiful, a young kilted soldier, rifle across his knees looks to Edinburgh castle; behind him is a bronze plaque ser in local stone wall, which has two intertwined wreaths with shields bearing the Stars and Stripes and St. Andrew's cross.

The figure and relief were sculpted by Robert Tait Mackenzie , born in Ontario, Canada of Scots parentage. The plinth is inscribed:

THE CALL 1914

A Tribute From Men and Women of
Scottish Blood and Sympathies
In the United States of AMERICA TO SCOTLAND

A People that jeoparded their lives unto the Death
in the High Places of the Field JUDGES.V.18


The plaque depicts 'the call to arms', with Scottish working men - miners, shepherds, gamekeepers, farmers and fishermen - being led off to war by a regimental pipe and drum band. Inscribed into the stone are the words

IF IT BE LIFE THAT WAITS, I SHALL LIVE FOREVER UNCONQUERED, IF DEATH, I SHALL DIE, AT LAST, STRONG IN MY PRIDE AND FREE.

Taken from the poem A Creed a written by Lieutenant E. Alan Mackintosh M.C. of the 5th Seaforth Highlanders, 51st Highland Division.

The memorial was unveiled in Edinburgh, funded by American Ex-pats; by people of Scots blood and sympathy in the USA, in commemoration of the Scottish effort in the Great War

Many of you know I have a great interest in the history of the Great War and I have always found this a most moving monument, situated in the Princess Street Gardens below the castle most people pass it by as they are in awe of the Castle which is a little sad.

I too was going to Blip the castle today for my friend but the sun glared and the shots were not that good, she refers to Edinburgh as one of her happy places and I hope that I will be forgiven for deviating from my planned Blip but I will return to the castel soon, maybe when the weather is a little less bright and the contrast of the cliffs and sky is better.

I hope you like the entry and find it of interest, really best viewed in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.