Tendril

Fortunately it was much cooler today, as I've had a long day out recording quadrats at a Wildlife Trust reserve at Fulbourn Fen. This site is on the outer edge of Cambridge and is quite well used. In the morning I shared a field with a nursery school group, having a morning out in the countryside. I was trying not to attract their attention, as I had a lot of quadrats to get through, but I could hear a small group of inquisitive children creeping up on me. I gave in and told them what I was doing, though trying to explain the concept of a species was a bit tricky!

I was beginning to despair of getting a blip. The site was in prime condition for recording, but many of the plants were past their peak, thanks to the few days of hot weather. There were butterflies and bees around, but a brisk breeze made it impossible to do any macro work (at least without taking a lot of shots!) As I reached the car, blipless, the sun was lighting up a plant of white bryony growing on a sheltered wood edge. I took a photograph of the flowers, but then became absorbed by the beautiful shapes of the tendrils. This was my favourite - somewhat reminiscent of a treble clef!

PS This blip very nearly didn't happen at all, as I left my camera in the middle of a field (mid-afternoon absent mindedness!). Fortunately I had the GPS location of the previous quadrat, and it was well off the path :)

PPS I've back blipped some marbled whites from yesterday - at the moment I'm finding it hard to keep up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.