Emerald eye

It was a cool, grey day with an almost autumnal feel about it - far too early! We had been planning to go to the Norfolk Broads again, but a Severe Weather Warning for rain put us off. Instead I took Chris and Pete to Dogsthorpe Star Pit to hunt for leafhoppers in the reed (part of Chris's current project for Buglife).

While they were working I amused myself photographing the wildlife. This is the first Emerald Damselfly Lestes sponsa I've seen this year; these are the last of the british damselflies to emerge and a sure sign that summer is past its peak. The cool weather meant that this female was unwilling to fly, allowing me to get a very close look at that amazing eye. The male's eyes are even more spectacular, being vivid blue. It must be so strange to be able to see in all directions, but so incredibly valuable for a voracious aerial hunter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.