Miniature Ringlet...

I had arranged to go down and survey a site at Newmarket, but as it was close to the Jockey Club Training Grounds, I was asked not to come until 1pm, when training is over for the day. 

I arrived early so had time for a walk along the Devil's Dyke where I was hoping to see the Lizard Orchids, which I'd first seen flower a couple of years ago, when they'd been at their peak on 8 July. This year most of them were definitely over, a consequence of the hot, windy weather and lack of rain. However, I did find one or two in half decent condition and have added one as an extra.

Normally the Lizard Orchid would have had pride of place but I was intrigued by this pair of Ringlets, which were in copula. One of the two, possibly the female, had tiny wings, although the head and body seemed to be of fairly normal proportion. I've tried to find other images of dwarf forms, but failed so far. A German paper suggested that occasionally dwarfs are produced when environmental conditions are particularly harsh and food availability is low. 

I finally started my survey at 1.40pm, by which time it was 27C. It was quite hard going, particularly as there was little shade on my survey route. I was pretty shattered when I finally got home - not surprising after walking about 9km in such high temperatures (at least for the UK!). Alex and Ben fetched fish and chips for dinner (though I had salad instead of chips) which was absolutely delicious - a very rare treat in our house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.