We've set a record!

We have been rained on for part or all of 16 consecutive days. To put it another way, we haven't seen the sun for 16 consecutive days, unless you count a occasional faint glimpse of it through the haze. We are all thoroughly tired of inundated gardens, rotten tomatoes, muddy paws, and flash flood warnings. Not to mention occasional tornado warnings in some parts of the area (not ours thankfully), high winds, and fallen trees. I'm tired of sleepless nights because Gulliver cannot sleep, thanks to thunder, lightning, and neighbors who think firework should explode nightly for the first 10 days of July. And when Gulliver can't sleep, nobody sleeps! He makes very sure of that. Poor terrified pup!

Okay, rant over. Tonight Bob was going to be off volunteering at a regional track meet, and I planned to take myself, my camera, and a tripod out for some photography during the magic hour right after sunset. Hah! Foiled again. The sun didn't shine, so no sunset, and for the second time this week, my plans were washed out. In late afternoon the storm clouds rumbled in, and I was left scrambling for an emergency blip. Fortunately this little hummingbird was hungry enough to ignore the rain, and I captured a quick blip at the feeder. The high ISO still couldn't get the shutter speed fast enough to freeze the wing action, but at least I managed to get his little face in fairly good focus. Please ignore the graininess!

Tomorrow we are supposed to have some blue skies and sunshine. I wonder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.