South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Sussex flint cottage

I thought I would post another photo of one of the cottages in our village. This one is opposite the shops and you begin to take it for granted because you see it most days. In fact, it's almost certainly much older than it looks, as there are records showing that it has been on this site since the early 1600's and it still has very old timbered beams inside. The slate roof replaced the original thatched roof and Georgian style windows and a flint/brick facade were probably added in the early 1800's to bring it "up-to-date" in the fashion of the time. At around the same time the extensive fields that went with the property were sold off.

I'm a very happy bunny today as my son and a friend worked together to put extra RAM into this netbook (Paul had only upgraded tower PC's before) and they have transformed it! I have constantly moaned about how slow it is, but with double the RAM it is working at a nice fast speed and is no longer driving me mad. Basically my son was waiting until after the guarantee ran out to replace the RAM with some he had bought for his netbook and then decided not to use. Yippee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.