... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Brixton Station: No Loitering!

This is the entrance to Brixton train station from one of the covered alleyways near Brixton Market. I'm really enjoying Brixton at the moment, and find its mixed up culture very interesting. Brixton has been "coming up", but is still very patchy: the market is a mixture of wig shops (?!), marijuana-branded clothing and accessory shops, diners, budget food shops ... and trendy restaurants, gift shops, cafés, and delis). There are many cheap, dodgy looking places, and also plenty of arty and/or aspirational ones too.

I had a tasty flat white at Federation Coffee this morning, and took some pictures in and around the market. I spoke to the camera repair shop who said that my camera ought to be ready early next week so it'll be a few days of G9-ing yet.

I went to Covent Garden to meet a friend for lunch, and had a jolly time exploring the narrow lanes and cut-through alleys in that part of the world: I almost posted a photo from inside Stanfords (a map and travel book shop: the floors are giant printed maps which is cool...), and was also tempted by a tiny little public garden that has only recently re-opened after being overhauled (it is still a work in progress, but was a great find). Both would look much better seen through my D800 and 24mm lens so I'll return when I'm better armed...

Good gosling news: I spoke to Ann (a volunteer who helped a lot when the goslings were in trouble last year) and she said that when she visited the goslings last night they both seemed fine, so perhaps someone else had helped it. I first phoned Kim (another volunteer) yesterday, so she may have helped it. Ann said that she'd be able to check in on it (to make sure it is feeding OK and not hurt) both today and tomorrow which is also reassuring. I visited them on my way home, and they both seemed fine but were mostly in the water so I couldn't see their legs to determine whether the line was completely gone...

p.s. The fluorescent light at the right-hand side of the picture was flickering very atmospherically! It was wonderfully clichéd: a dark, moody corner with a flickering light and a No Loitering sign...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.