BJH

By BJH

Eggs

I didn't have time to stop at the artificial island before riding to the sanctuary this afternoon but I did stop and watch the Great Crested Grebe on its nest on the way home after my walk with Kastard. After 40 minutes my patience was finally rewarded when the Grebe finally stood up and revealed 4 eggs before sitting down again. It was quite difficult to get some good enough shots as the wind kept blowing reeds and grasses in front of the nest but I did manage to take a few that were not too bad.

My mother wasn't too happy that I'd stayed at the island so long though instead of returning home immediately after the walk because I was meant to go and pick up some Chinese food for this evening's meal. Normally we would have had it on my birthday yesterday but the take-away place was closed then so we postponed it to this evening instead.

It was yet another hot day today and according to the forecast we can expect several more like it. The only place in the house where I don't feel uncomfortable because of the heat is the area downstairs where Rosie lives. It's a perfect 21°C there and I wish I could stay there the whole day and night until the temperatures will hopefully drop again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.