Fairmont Garage

I went to the Cable Car Museum in San Francisco today. I'm just fascinated by the big machines and the clever mechanisms that make this Victorian masterpiece of engineering work.

On the way up the hill on foot I noticed I was behind the Fairmont Hotel. This is where I stayed the very first time I came to San Francisco about 11 years ago so I couldn't resist snaping the sign. I was quite pleased with my photos today in general, but this was the one that stood out to me thanks to the fortuitous positioning of the yellow cab. It's certainly a bit better than yesterday's mobile-phone-camera-disaster-montage!

After visiting the museum I rode a cable car back downtown and then went out to the Golden Gate Park for a stroll and a bit of exploring. It really is a fantastic green space for city dwellers.

Thank you to everyone who has stuck with me and kept commenting even though I've not been very good at getting round to commenting at all this year.

For anyone who is interested, there are more photos to go with Friday's blip on my website here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.