David Nichols

By davidnichols

Zlin 226 "Trener" at Sazena

Zlin 226 "Trener" at Sazena airport (LKSZ).

Did 2:17 of cross-country today. Unfortunately, while I did some nice approaches and landings at some new airports, I got lost between Horice (LKHC) and Vrchlabi (LKVR). I had been relying on the gyro-compass, and it was here that it failed (while trying to adjust it the knob stuck out and wouldn't re-engage). So I flew the rest of the VFR navigation flight with the magnetic compass only. The runway was short and the runway markings were not visible on approach at Horice, so I did not land there as originally planned.

Also I didn't mark all the times, etc, which of course I'll have to do when I do my check ride. Also, my instructor took the controls a couple of times when I checked the maps, which also I will not be able to do on my check ride. As you might guess, I'm starting to get nervous about my check ride :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.