David Nichols

By davidnichols

Milesovka Meteorlogical Station

The Milesovka meteorological station on a cross country trip to Usti nad Labem (LKUL).

We had to modify our cross country; we had planned on flying south, but because of a thunderstorm moving across the our path, we flew north instead. On announcing our presence to the info channel for the airport, the controller said he didn't understand English and asked me to speak German! All Czech radio operators have to speak English now, so he will have some problems getting his license renewed. This town is very close to the German border, so I guess German would be the second language to a lot of people there. Fortunately I speak German, so it wasn't a problem, but I was surprised, and it was the first time I spoke German on the radio while flying. I guarantee that in Germany and Austria all radio operators will speak English, so I doubt if I have too many other chances to speak German like that :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.