The Little Mermaid

Here is proof that mermaids really DO exist!

On this day, my oldest sister came to visit and we did the Boalsburg Arts Festival. We visited the fest in the morning (I bought SIX new pairs of dangly, sparkly earrings - hooray! - and a small mermaid print, and two jars of hot pepper jelly) and we had a lovely lunch at Duffy's Tavern in Boalsburg.

After our lunch, we had a half-hour to spend before visiting one of my friends and her cat, Skeeter, who is brother to my Tabby boy Dexter. So we stopped by Spring Creek Park for a quick visit.

We were walking down along the creek, when suddenly, we came upon a REAL mermaid (though a very little one) sunning herself on a rock along Spring Creek . . .

Half human, half fish, this lovely creature was kind enough to pose for some pictures, then slipped back into the creek and silently disappeared beneath the waves, flipping her tail-fin in farewell!

The soundtrack: Under the Sea, from the Disney film, The Little Mermaid.

P.S. A related blip: October 24's The Last Pennsylvania Mermaid. :-) But I guess I was wrong on that one, wasn't I . . . ? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.