Wade in the Water

It was Friday, a day that I had originally scheduled as vacation time so that my oldest sister and I could visit a local arts festival in Boalsburg. There are actually two festivals that occur during the exact same time period: the Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts in State College, and the People's Choice Festival in Boalsburg.

My sister drives up from the Harrisburg area, about a two-hours' drive. She and I used to try to visit both fests on the same day, but that is a lot to squish into a single day. So now we usually prefer to visit the Boalsburg one because it includes more local artists, the venue is more green and peaceful than downtown, and the prices are reasonable enough that you can occasionally afford to buy a little something.

However, my sister wrecked her car on Sunday, while on her way to our annual family reunion. (You can read more about that day and see another lovely green view here.) She was fortunate to make it through the wreck relatively unscathed, although very shaken up and bruised a bit. However, the car was beyond repairs. So numerous plans that she had for the week had to be cancelled, including our Friday visit to the Boalsburg fest.

I was disappointed by this change in plans, of course, as "doing the fest" is something we both look forward to all year. And my sister is one of the biggest supporters of my photography efforts, so I was looking forward to taking her to the gallery in Lemont where my photo is hanging in the photo exhibit that accompanies the festival. But it was not to be; she was especially disappointed not able to be present to share my moment of glory.

But my husband convinced me to keep Friday as a vacation day on my calendar; the weather was supposed to be sunny and warm, and he was hopeful that we might be able to drive up to Renovo to Hyner Run State Park and swim at the pool there. The park was originally a CCC (Civilian Conservation Corps) camp, and it is rustic and charming, very old-fashioned. In past summers, we've visited it often. This summer, for whatever reason, we just hadn't gotten there yet. Distances seem further as we get older; we are less likely to take off on a whim.

I wanted to have fun. But in truth, my heart was with my sister; I have felt very sad, shared her pain, all week. On Friday morning, my husband and I had breakfast out and ran a few errands in town, and by early afternoon, we found ourselves at the Hyner Run State Park, which is about an hour and a half's drive from where we live.

The swimming pool was open and only two or three people were in it. The picnic area was virtually empty. We planned to have several leisurely swims before heading over to Lock Haven to try out a new restaurant's fish fry for dinner. But first, we put on our water wading shoes and went for a green and shady walk up Hyner Run.

As soon as I sunk my hot feet in the cool, clear waters, I immediately felt better. There is something about very cold water that does that to me. It takes my breath away. It clears my head. I lose my cares and focus instead on the chilly water. It refreshes my soul.

I took this photo while wading in the waters of the creek. It is easy enough to slip on the muddy rocks, so I was keeping a careful eye on my footing for the sake of my camera's safety. Yes, I once dropped a camera - my APS camera, probably 5 to 10 years ago - on a rock by a creek in similar circumstances, and I felt just awful about it. So now I am wary, cautious.

The view from here is green and lovely. The only sound is the laughter of the stream on the rocks. There is a comfy wooden bench up to the left in the sun, but my favorite place to sit is on that green and mossy rock to the right in front of us. It doesn't look it, but it is wide enough to fit a fold-up chair on it. But if you don't have a chair (I didn't), you can just sit on that rock and dangle your feet in the cold, clear waters.

The song to accompany this image is one that describes exactly what I was doing as I was taking this photo. It is the traditional spiritual, Wade in the Water. The song has a line about how "God's gonna trouble the waters." This refers to a Bible verse (John 5:4) that talks about the angels "troubling" the waters. The first person into the water after the angels disturb the surface receives the gift of healing. Authorship of the lyrics is uncertain, but the song was first published in 1901. There are many good recordings of it, but I think this is one of the best. Sweet Honey in the Rock, with Wade in the Water.

Now, take my hand. And we will step together into these cool, clean waters; and in doing so, may we all be released of whatever worries or ailments or sadness we may carry. Let us leave them all behind on these green and shady shores. Wade in the water . . . wade in the water, children . . . God's gonna trouble the waters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.