On the way home

We were on our way home by 9.15 and by the time we got to Clovelly my phone at woken up and all my text messages streamed in.

We decided to stop at Tyntesfield, a National Trust property that has recently featured in their publicity. A Victorian Gothic pile that only the filthy rich could build for themselves, though I love the fact that we ordinary plebs can walk around these places now. I've opted for this photo taken at the front of the house. A couple who were sat nearby wanted to know what I was taking as I was down on my knees in the grass - I'm not sure they understood the idea of yellow and grasses.

Tyntesfield is well worth a visit if you are in the Bristol area. I think my favourite places were the loo's - a converted horse stall and also the cafe, where you sat in a former stable - all the features had been retained, so there are troughs, drinking fountains and hay feeders still fixed to the walls.

Jan and I shared the drive home and we arrived back in Sheffield around 6pm.

My final drive back across Strines from Jan's house was also beautiful. A lovely end to a great few days away.

Our trip to Devon - the missing days:

Sunday - we drive down to North Devon
Monday - our first day in the studio and a visit to Hartland Quay
Tuesday - Printmaking
Wednesday - Hartland village clock tower

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.