Hartland Village Square

A bit later up this morning so I decided to draw before breakfast rather than walk. I love the clock tower on the chapel roof so I spent a bit of time sat on the steps of the war memorial drawing it. A difficult angle to get right so I had a few attempts.

You can just see the swift box with the web-cam attached near the eaves of the building.

Another beautiful blue sky morning in North Devon and we were back here at 9am ready to start our third day of printing. We've were hand burnishing using japanese paper - another new and successful experience for me. I've been printing in browns today - quite successfully I think, but maybe I'd like to experiment with colour a bit further. Bob, a woodworking and photographer friend of Merlyns made us all a hand burnisher out of hardwood - so that helped put finishing touches to prints. He was back with them within an hour - so I'm not sure what he `didn't do'!

I love the way the community are friendly and supportive and the fact that you can just nip to the shop when you've forgotten something. I bet its a great place to live - a few tourists about but not enough to overwhelm and still a place for local people rather than second home owners.

Our last day of printing and we carried on until after 5pm putting finishing touches to prints and then clearing up. We were booked in the local pub/ restaurant for 7pm for a goodbye meal with Merlyn and Pat.

Retired to bed early but happy - a tiring day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.