Terns--The Book

The dusk jacket of a superb new and authoritative British book on terns, which happens to include my photograph of a common tern feeding its fledgling. I am honored that Ian Nisbet chose it for the book, which is #123 in the distinguished British series, The New Naturalist Library. He sent me a copy, which I found in our mail after our return from Scotland (yesterday's dead battery problem was easily solved by Triple AAA).

The lovely dust jacket (by Robert Gillmor) tempted me to blip it. Here is my image (from Cape Cod). The book's caption for it reads: "Common tern feeding a juvenile several weeks after fledging. Young terns need many weeks of practice before they become proficient at diving for fish. In some tern species, juveniles migrate with their parents and are still fed by them after they reach the winter quarters."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.