SweetArt

By SweetArt

Alcatraz!

Finally got the go on the much anticipated tour to Alcatraz today. Actually, it nearly didn't happen because Jon woke up feeling really awful and coughing up some yucky stuff. GREAT! Anyway, after much convincing, managed to drag him out of bed and we made it to the ferry with plenty time to spare.

I don't know why I wanted to visit Alcatraz so much, perhaps because my dad used to talk about it now and then and I might have made a mental note that I'd like to visit some day. Anyway, it was quite fascinating. The guided headphone tour was hauntingly amazing. And Jon, despite feeling awful, managed to enjoy it, well as much as one can enjoy a tour of a maximum security prison! They have about 5,000 visitors a day. I had tried to book this tour from HK about a week before we left, but there were no tickets avaiable during our visit - totally sold out till August. SHOCK! HORROR! Anyway, I called up the hotel where we are staying and asked their Concierge if they could get tickets, and they were able to procure us some for today. Phew!

We then walked across to Fisherman's Wharf and had a fabulous meal at a fish restaurant. It's VERY touristy down there. Headed back to the city after a walk around the area and we made it to the famous Lombard Street and caught a glimpse of the flowery hairpin drive. We hope to see more of that on our hop on hop off bus tour tomorrow. The highlight of that will be a drive on the Golden Gate bridge. I'm SOOOO excited. I cannot believe that I'm getting to see places that I've seen in so many movies and TV shows. Thank you Lord and umm .... Martin!!!!

P.S. I did take Jon to the doctors, and he's fine, nothing serious, been given meds and he will live.
P.P.S. It's freeeeeeezzzing ... did I say that already??


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.