The Heart of a Poppy

Grown for food, to produce their powerful medicinal alkaloid opium (fitting as the brilliant Sherlock featuring the talented Cumberbatch & Freeman was on tonight) or simply for their beauty & colour, the Poppy is a wonderful flower.

The weekend is upon us & it looks like we're in for some hot, hot sun! I was straight out after work, the joy at reaching the end of a working week still fresh in my step, to see how our plants & flowers are doing today. I spotted this poppy bud had captured a bead or two of water, presumably from watering yesterday, & I was glad to have captured (in my own way) its detail & beauty. The first few poached egg plants have come out too & they're stunning with their white & bright yellow petals.

Our very own Flanders flower patch is coming to life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.