Return to the North

By Viking

Wanganui/Westhaven inlet

I headed up to do a walk up at Knuckle Hill this morning. It is a 6.5km walk to the turn off for Knuckle hill itself so was well warmed up by the time I got to the bottom of that particular hill! It advertised that it was only an 850m hike so off I trotted. About 200m I was starting to have second thoughts. the track wasn't well worn and if it wasn't boggy it was rocky - VERY ROCKY! It's name obviously comes from skinning said knuckles as you all but climb the hill on all fours! About 400m I decided I was nuts - mainly because I was starting to think about how hard the descent was going to be!!! (am not big on descents!!!)

Anyways this is the view from the trig point at the top. Worth the climb and I might add that apart from a few scary moments on the way down I survived in tact (and with no bog on my bum:-)

Knuckle Hill
This aptly named hill provides the only elevated viewpoint of Whanganui Inlet, a huge estuary declared a marine reserve and wildlife management reserve in 1994.
342m at it's highest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.