TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Sugar Mountain~

~Colored Balloons~

I was watching tonight sunset, camera in hand, parked in isolation out in the desert, in the Tortalita Valley. As this loveliness began to evolve I moved farther from my truck up to a small rise in the desert. I left my radio on as I sometimes do to add complexion to my photographic experience. Then as the sunset reached its apex this song came on, filling my valley with wonder. As I took this photograph I may have not seen it clearly in my viewfinder, I may have had a tear of happiness in my eye!

Oh, to live on Sugar Mountain
With the barkers and the colored balloons,
You can't be twenty on Sugar Mountain
Though you're thinking that
you're leaving there too soon,
You're leaving there too soon.

It's so noisy at the fair
But all your friends are there
And the candy floss you had
And your mother and your dad.

Oh, to live on Sugar Mountain
With the barkers and the colored balloons,
You can't be twenty on Sugar Mountain
Though you're thinking that
you're leaving there too soon,
You're leaving there too soon.

Now you say you're leavin' home
'Cause you want to be alone.
Ain't it funny how you feel
When you're findin' out it's real?

Oh, to live on Sugar Mountain
With the barkers and the colored balloons,
You can't be twenty on Sugar Mountain
Though you're thinking that
you're leaving there too soon,
You're leaving there too soon.


Appreciation to Neil Young for your song
and the lyrics that I have loved for over 40 years.

Thanks for being with me in this solitary moment, TucsonJim ;o)


Full Frame Colored Balloons

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.